Thirsty For Romance Thursday Bargains, Freebies & Reviews

51GDDfGgtDL


 



My New Release &

Author’s Début Review of

With Love in Sight

1351848915

The Twice Shy Series Book 1

by Christina Britton

Series: The Twice Shy Series (Book 1)

Paperback: 280 pages

Publisher: Diversion Books

Publication Date: March 27, 2018

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1635761964

ISBN-13: 978-1635761962

File Size: 1340 KB

Print Length: 280 pages

Publisher: Diversion Books

Publication Date: March 27, 2018

Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC

Language: English

ASIN: B078WK52KV

Now Available For Purchase in

E-Book and Paperback at:

kindlenookibooks

Publisher’s Description:

A witty Regency Romance from 2017 Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart Winner Christina Britton, perfect for fans of Julia Quinn and Tessa Dare.

An aging spinster at twenty-six, all Imogen Duncan sees ahead of her is a life of servitude to her overbearing mother. Her London Season has passed and her desperate shyness and reserved demeanor have destroyed any chance for a match. As her younger sister Mariah begins her own Season with a selection of suitors, Imogen believes her chances for excitement are well and truly lost…Until a case of mistaken identity and an accidental kiss bring adventure into her life.

Burying his guilt from a decade-old tragedy beneath a life of debauchery, Caleb Masters, Marquess of Willbridge is content enough to meet willing widows in dark gardens to numb the pain. But he is wholly unprepared when an innocent miss stumbles into his life, turning his superficial world on its head.

Drawn to the rogue that mistakenly stole her first kiss, Imogen finds not a suitor, but a friend. Free to be herself for the first time in her life, she begins to see a new beauty in the world around her…and see a strength in herself she never knew she possessed. But when friendship turns to passion, Imogen will accept nothing less than Caleb’s heart. Can a healing of the past lead to the promise of a future together?

My Thoughts:

This is this author’s début novel. It is essentially a well written effort but I found it a bit drawn out.
There are many times in the last ten chapters or so that our story could have come to it’s HEA ending but the continuous roadblocks frustrated me as a reader.
Imogen and Caleb both have their issues with love and marriage.
Imogen has had her seasons but never took as it is and now it’s her younger sister’s turn.
Her mother is the ultimate dragon of a regency mother with a one track mind, find a match for her young daughter. Never mind that Imogen also deserves her own happily ever after.
Caleb accidentally encounters Imogen when she goes to a darkened garden to escape the vicious tongues of other members of the ton.
There Imogen gets her first kiss when Caleb mistakes her for another.
Imogen becomes enthralled by this man she knows as a rake.
Caleb decides he must know who the lady is and offers her something else she has never had, friendship.
The concept is a good one and for the most part I enjoyed this read.
I gave this book 4 of 5 stars for storyline and character development and a sensual rating of 3.5 of 5.0 flames.
When the intimacy comes to fruition it is somewhat of a surprise, but it doesn’t change Imogen’s attitude. Caleb on the other hand has found something unexpected.
I received a complimentary digital ARC of this book from the publisher to read via NetGalley. This in no way affected my opinion of this book which I read and reviewed voluntarily.



The Buccaneer Duke

cv-buccaneer-duke

The Renegade Royals Book 5

A Renegade Royals Novella

by Vanessa Kelly

File Size: 1761 KB

Print Length: 114 pages

Publication Date: March 19, 2018

Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC

Language: English

ASIN: B07BKVBXH5

E-Book Currently Available For $0.99 at:

~READ AN EXCERPT~

Publisher’s Description:

The Buccaneer Duke: A Renegade Royals Novella

“Vanessa Kelly has once again written a splendid story!” ~Buried Under Romance

“Regency romance fans are in for a royal treat.” ~Publishers Weekly on The Renegade Royals Series

Another enthralling romance from Vanessa Kelly’s bestselling series about the illegitimate sons of English royalty…

Captain Roman Cantrell, illegitimate son of a royal duke, served his country as a ruthless privateer on the high seas. But the war is over and his father orders him home to London to find a respectable wife, one who will help restore his reputation amongst the ton.

But the only woman Roman finds remotely attractive is the opposite of respectable. Antonia Barnett is decidedly unconventional, positively scandalous—and entirely enchanting. Unfortunately, she’s also the daughter of his greatest rival, a man who believes that Roman’s dangerous past will come back to haunt him.

But troublesome fathers and ruthless enemies are no match for Antonia—as Roman is about to find out…

Previously published in the anthology, THE DUKES OF VAUXHALL


My July 22nd, 2015 Review of

How to Marry a Royal Highlander

268000884

Renegade Royals book 4

by Vanessa Kelly

Series: Renegade Royal book 4

Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages

Publisher: Zebra

Publication Date: June 30, 2015

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1420131281

ISBN-13: 978-1420131284

File Size: 847 KB

Print Length: 352 pages

Publisher: Zebra (June 30, 2015)

Publication Date: June 30, 2015

Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services

Language: English

ASIN: B00ONTR5ZC

Available in E-Book & Mass Market Paperback at

Read an Excerpt

Add to Goodreads

 

 

Synopsis:

Illegitimate yet thoroughly irresistible, the Renegade Royals are leaving behind their careers as daring spies for the greatest adventure of all…

At sixteen, Alasdair Gilbride, heir to a Scottish earldom, fled the Highlands and an arranged betrothal. Ten years later, Alasdair must travel home to face his responsibilities. It’s a task that would be much easier without the distracting presence of the most enticing woman he’s ever met…

After one escapade too many, Eden Whitney has been snubbed by the ton. The solution: rusticating in the Scottish wilderness, miles from all temptation. Except, of course, for brawny, charming Alasdair. The man is so exasperating she’d likely kill him before they reach the border—if someone else weren’t trying to do just that. Now Eden and Alasdair are plunging into a scandalous affair with his life and her reputation at stake—and their hearts already irreparably lost…

My Thoughts:

I love reading Vanessa Kelly books whether they are written as Vanessa Kelly or as V.K. Sykes (a shared authorship with her husband).

This particular novel is in my favorite genre, Historical Romance, and with my favorite subject Highlanders.

It’s hard to believe that How to Marry a Royal Highlander is book four (and two novellas) in Vanessa Kelly’s Renegade Royals Series but amazingly enough it is. 

I gave this book 4 ½ of 5 stars for storyline and characterization.

I really enjoyed the read. As usual Vanessa Kelly has written a winner.

I Highly recommend this to anyone who loves Historical Romance and Highlanders!

I received a complimentary digital ARC of this book to read from the publisher via NetGalley. This in no way affected my opinion of this book which I read and reviewed voluntarily.


Lost in a Royal Kiss

519-dRuCbDL

The Renegade Royals, 0.5

by Vanessa Kelly

 File Size: 758 KB

Print Length: 88 pages

Publisher: Zebra (November 26, 2013)

Publication Date: November 26, 2013

Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services

Language: English

ASIN: B00DV1ISZO

$0.99 in E-Book at:

 

Read an Excerpt

Publisher’s Description:

ALL IT TAKES IS ONE KISS…

In this thrilling introduction to her Renegade Royals series, Vanessa Kelly transports readers to the court of King George III—where a London street urchin unwittingly plays Cupid, ushering in a new era—and ultimately a new kind of royal…

With her widowed mother working long hours as governess to the royal children, Linnet St. Clare must look after her siblings and run the household. Now she must add to her worries the fate of Dominic, a poor orphan who has inspired the wrath of the king himself. Clearly Linnet has no time to consider her own desires—much less notice the attentions of a certain handsome, powerful magistrate…

Sir Anthony Tait is at a loss for how to capture Linnet’s interest. If only she would be still long enough for courting. Outright seduction seems the only answer. But will his kisses be enough to persuade her—or might Anthony have something to learn from young Dominic about matters of the heart? And in saving the boy’s future, might Anthony and Linnet at last create their own?…



Proudly Reviewing ARCs Through  NetGalley Since 2014

pro_reader_120eighty_percent_feedback_ratio_120favorited_reviews_120untitlednetgalley_challenge_2016_gold_120



I also Review Books & ARCs Through The Following:

edelweiss_logo-300x42

Hidden Gems logo


author's palButton_Basic

thVSVIOF0B

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s