Wonderful Wednesday Bargains, Freebies & Reviews


reviews_200_120  pro_reader_120  eighty_percent_feedback_ratio_120  netgalley_challenge_2016_gold_120  favorited_reviews_120


Join The Riffle Reading Community!

My Re-Release Review of

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Released as a Single Title June 27th, 2017


Kent Brothers Chronicles Book 1

by Elizabeth Essex

Previously appeared in the Vexed anthology

Publisher’s Description:

From award-winning author Elizabeth Essex comes an enchanting prequel to the Kent Brothers Chronicles…

Nessa Teague has never believed in the magic that swirls around her village like a fine Cornish mist. She’s never had need of it. Until the day Lord Harry Beck returns to Bocka Morrow and Nessa realizes there is nothing, including the blackest of magic, she won’t do to have him for her own.

Harry Beck has left the Royal Navy only to find himself shoaled upon the rocky coast of Cornwall, where smugglers haunt every cove and treachery fouls the waters. His best hope to find the traitor selling secrets to the French is to charm the vicar’s observant and intelligent daughter, Nessa Teague.

But in a place where loyalty runs deeper than the deep blue sea, they’ll need more than charm to uncover the secret plot that threatens their country, and shakes their faith in the power and magic of true love.

A Note From the Publisher:

This novella previously appeared in the Vexed anthology. Book 1 of the Kent Brothers Chronicles. Regency Romance.

Advance Praise:
“This was my first time reading a book by Elizabeth Essex and it did not disappoint…The ending was great and a bit of a surprise.” -Sassy Book Lover

“Filled with adventure, possible treason, magic…

My Thoughts:

This novella which was originally published as part of ” Vexed” book #1 of The Haunting of Castle Keyvnor collection but this is my first time reading this particular novella from the collection.
I previously read two others, Romancing the Rogue by Erica Ridley and from book #3 “Mystified” The Mad Countess by Erica Monroe. All of these stories are loosely tied together either by the supposed haunting of the castle or the reading of the will of the late-Earl of Banfield.
This one is tied to the others by the supposed haunting of the castle. We have a mixture of smuggling, possible treason, magic potions and love in this well written novella.
I gave this title 4.75 of 5 stars for storyline and character development and a sensual rating of 2 of 5 flames. There are only a few heated kisses involved and the only flames lead to an explosion that kills the traitor and throws our hero and heroine together.
I received a complimentary digital ARC of this title from the publisher via NetGalley to read. This in no way affected my opinion of this book which I read and reviewed voluntarily.

Pirates & Prejudice


Book 5 of The Swashbuckling Romance Series

by Jane Reynolds

Print List Price: $10.99

Buy Now For $0.99 in Digital Format at:


or Read Free With KindleUnlimited

Publisher’s Description:

She wanted a stable life, a good marriage, and a family. He stole her away to the sea.

Elinor is a woman of means, who is looking forward to her arranged marriage. As the eldest of three sisters, she wants to show her siblings that love, while ideal, doesn’t need to be the main component to a successful marriage. Duty to the family is more important than duty to one’s self. Her best friend, Samantha, doesn’t quite agree, but Sam has always been ideal and never particularly cared about making a smart match for herself.

Jaime Butler is a Scottish privateer, sailing the Seven Seas for treasure and freedom. When he gets word that his long lost sister is in the Caribbean, he rushes to obtain her and bring her back to his home in Scotland. He doesn’t think he would need to take her friend as well, an obnoxious English woman who wants everything done perfectly. At least he might be able to get a good ransom out of her – not that he needs it. He’s wealthy in his own right and only takes on the role of privateer because he wants the excuse to sail the seven seas, taking what he wants for the English king (the bastard).

When forces collide, bringing these two opposites together, both will learn that love is more than they originally thought it would be.

The Series:

Read Any of These Books FREE With KindleUnlimited!

  • Heroes & Thieves: Book 1
  • Beauties & Buccaneers: Book 2
  • Corsets & Crossbones: Book 3
  • Manners & Marauders: Book 4
  • Pirates & Prejudice: Book 5 (Recent Release March 3, 2017)
  • Stone Castles & Scallywags: Book 6 (Recent Release May 5, 2017)



Wicked Highland Wishes

for $0.99


Highlander Vows

Entangled Hearts Book 2

by Julie Johnstone

Print List Price: $14.99

Digital List Price: $3.99

Digital Sale price $0.99 at:


Publisher’s Description:

Desire tempted them. Honor forbade them. Love ensnared them.

Legendary warrior Lachlan MacLeod has never encountered anything or anyone he could not conquer. But when his younger brother confesses his love for Bridgette MacLean—the only woman Lachlan has ever wanted—Lachlan turns away from the beautiful Scottish lass, vowing to be no more than her friend. Yet his need for Bridgette enslaves him and may well prove to be the one thing he cannot defeat.

Fiercely independent Bridgette longs to be treated as an equal to the men. She always imagined great battles in her future, not great love. Then Lachlan saw her as no one ever had and captured her heart, awakening new cravings inside her without realizing it. But when Lachlan’s younger brother suffers a grave injury while saving her life, she feels unable to deny his plea for her heart. However, it is impossible to give what belongs to another…

Torn between their own desire and their loyalties, Bridgette and Lachlan must find the courage to grasp the passion awaiting them and face the pain their choice will cause. Yet even as they confront their future and love finally seems within their grasp, a fight for the Scottish throne divides the Highland clans and Bridgette becomes a pawn in a political game that threatens to tear her and Lachlan apart forever.

Couple having a romantic date

Daylight Follows


by Michelle Dare

Print List Price: $14.99

Digital List Price: $3.99

FREE For a Limited Time in Digital Format at:


or Read for FREE with KindleUnlimited

Publisher’s Description:

Daylight Follows is a standalone new adult romance.

Direction and a sense of purpose for her life evaded Daniella Archer. She was in college, but her classes didn’t hold her interest. She had a boyfriend, but never got butterflies when he was near. Her two best friends were her lifelines, the ones who always stood by her. Then tragedy shattered her world and she sunk into a deep depression. She watched helplessly as the rainy sky mimicked her tears and the dark clouds, her mood.

Garrett Ramsey secretly loved Daniella throughout their high school years. When he moved away, he finally put those feelings behind him and moved on with his life, or so he thought. Just seeing Dani again brought all of the feelings he thought were long dead, straight to the surface again. She never saw him as more than a friend, so he didn’t tell her how he truly felt.

Two people, two paths, both missing something significant. Storms swirled all around and the blackness of night seemed to last forever. They dared to hope daylight would follow.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s