Wonderful Wednesday Bargains, Freebies & Reviews

51z8rvd1ybl




reviews_100_120pro_reader_120eighty_percent_feedback_ratio_120netgalley_challenge_2016_gold_120favorited_reviews_120



MY RECENT RELEASE REVIEW of

Pub Date: 12 Sept 2016

The Governess Was Wicked 51z8rvd1ybl

The Governess Series Book 1

by Julia Kelly

Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books

$0.99 at:

Amazon ~ B&N ~ Google ~ iBooks ~ Kobo

Publisher’s Description:

This delightfully charming and saucy Regency era romance, is first in the Governess series in which three best friends are employed as governesses for different families, and all find themselves wanting something they can’t have.

Elizabeth Porter is quite happy with her position as the governess for two sneaky-yet-sweet girls when she notices that they have a penchant for falling ill and needing the doctor. As the visits from the dashing and handsome Doctor Edward Fellows become more frequent, Elizabeth quickly sees through the lovesick girls’ ruse. Yet even Elizabeth can’t help but notice Edward’s bewitching bedside manner even as she tries to convince herself that someone of her station would not make a suitable wife for a doctor. But one little kiss won’t hurt…


My Thoughts:
I have not previously read anything by this author so I was delightfully surprised. This is a fast paced read and I totally enjoyed it. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that the Hero & Heroine got caught immediately with their first full sexual encounter. Come on if that isn’t rotten luck what is?
I would give this book a 4 star rating and look forward to reading and reviewing the other 2 books in this series which I have already been approved for.
I was provided a digital ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review

About The Author:

Julia Kelly is the award-winning author of sexy historical and contemporary romances 71zq-n692ol__ux250_about smart women and the men who love them. She picked up her first romance novel and the bad habit of reading well past her bedtime when she was thirteen. Years later, while a struggling graduate student at Columbia University who was watching far too much Dancing With the Stars, she decided to try writing a romance to rekindle some of her creativity. She’s never looked back.

Julia’s delightfully charming historical romance trilogy from Pocket Star, The Governess Was Wicked, The Governess Was Wanton, and The Governess Was Wild, follows three best friends who are employed by different families, and all find themselves wanting something they can’t have.

Julia won the 2014 Contemporary Romance Chapter’s Stiletto Award for her sports romance Second Chance Girl which is set to be published by Pocket Star in 2017. Julia is the author of Seduction in the Snow and The Wedding Week. She is also a founding member of First Draught, a monthly YouTube show and podcast exploring writing and romance with a drink in hand.

By day, Julia is an Emmy-nominated journalist in New York City where she chases breaking news and bosses reporters around. She never met a pair of stilettos she didn’t love and still stays up too late reading.

Julia loves connecting with readers and is always happy to chat about romance, history, and everything in between!

Newsletter: http://bit.ly/1Q0VBIz
Website: juliakellywrites.com
Facebook: /juliakellywrites
Twitter: @the_julia_kelly
Wattpad: @juliakellywrites
Pinterest: @juliakellywrite      



Bright

The Estelle Series Book 1

by H. D. Knightley

Digital List Price: $2.99

FREE For a Limited Time at Amazon

For readers who loved The Giver, City of Ember, and Divergent, comes Bright (Book One of The Estelle Series)

Overview From Amazon: 

515p3kkvxvlEstelle’s rebellion seems simple enough — farm, publish, love, but along the way she becomes a celebrity, and pushing the limits of what is allowed—a criminal.

Her friends try to warn her. William tries to protect her. But she tells the story anyway and blows her world apart.

In turns, funny and dramatic, quirky and thought-provoking, Bright, Beyond, and Belief tell the story of Estelle, from young dreamer, to the gripping conclusion — a lone woman taking responsibility for it all.

 
 Also look for H.D. Knightley’s dramatic, fun, fairytale, Fly: The Light Princess Retold

Praise for The Estelle Series:

“This entire series is perfect. Zany and fun and heartwarming and deep. I’m in love with the characters.”—A White

“With relatable characters, meaningful themes, and beautiful content, I cannot more highly recommend another book.” —delphinae74

 
“sure to be a classic for young readers. The story of Estelle Wells is as inspiring as it is poignant.”—J Schilling-Wigley

 
Thought-provoking, poignant, and inspiring. A powerful metaphor for our present and future..”—R Singer

 
“Start to finish so refreshing and fun.”—L Goins

“Things became intense early on, and I was thoroughly gripped by unexpected turns, interesting characters, and a story that felt simultaneously like fantasy and yet all-too-possible.”—RB

About The Author:

I’m H.D. Knightley and it’s terrifically lovely to meet you.711xtf7r5ll

A while back I decided I should become a writer, and I just happened to have a manuscript, Bright, ready for a first round of editing, so it only made sense.

Then I happened to be sitting around a campfire with friends and discovered that one of them happened to be an editor AND she could explain to me why I am Team Gale and my daughters are Team Peeta without hurting my feelings. I hired her on the spot. She was kind enough to wait for payment from the Kickstarter campaign. Thankfully it was successful so she did indeed get paid.

Lastly, while waiting for my Kickstarter campaign to complete, and for my editor to give me a last round of a brutal lot of editing, I started writing another book, Fly.

Now, with two books on the shelf, I call myself an author. I didn’t realize this was my path until I was on it, and truly hope you enjoy where it is taking me, us.

Very very lastly, there are a lot of commonalities in my books—fairytale flavors, magical leanings, environmental issues, romance with quirks, surfing hotties, and wishful thinking. But I mostly like to write about  heroes who are completely in over their head at least some of the time.



A Kingdom’s Cost

A Historical Novel of Scotland

The Black Douglas Trilogy Book 1

by J.R. Tomlin

Digital List Price: $3.99

FREE For a Limited Time at Amazon

Eighteen-year-old James Douglas can only watch, helpless, as the Scottish freedom fighter, 51vjacucmilWilliam Wallace, is hanged, drawn, and quartered. Even under the heel of a brutal English conqueror, James’s blood-drenched homeland may still have one hope for freedom, the rightful king of the Scots, Robert the Bruce. James swears fealty to the man he believes can lead the fight against English tyranny.

The Bruce is soon a fugitive, king in name and nothing more. Scotland is occupied, the Scottish resistance crushed. The woman James loves is captured and imprisoned. Yet James believes their cause is not lost. With driving determination, he blazes a path in blood and violence, in cunning and ruthlessness as he wages a guerrilla war to restore Scotland’s freedom. James knows he risks sharing Wallace’s fate, but what he truly fears is that he has become as merciless as the conqueror he fights.


The Templar’s Cross

A Medieval Mystery

The Sir Law Kintour Series Book 1

by J.R. Tomlin

Digital List Price: $2.99

FREE For a Limited Time at Amazon

51xa3llh2jl

Sir Law Kintour has returned from the war in France crippled, broke, and in need of a patron. In desperation, he reluctantly accepts a commission to find a nobleman’s runaway wife. He enlists the help of a fellow Scot with whom he escaped after their defeat at the Battle of Verneuil. But his friend is murdered, and Law discovers he has been lied to. As the murders continue to mount, powerful interests come into play. When the Sheriff of Perth considers him a convenient scapegoat, it gives Law no choice but to untangle the lies and find the killer or hang for the murders.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s