My Review of a Recent Read


The Seventh Son

(Norman Conquest Book 4)

by Ashley York



Drogheda, Ireland 1076

The sixth son bears a curse as certain as the seventh son bears a blessing. When Tadhg MacNaughton’s betrothed is ripped from his arms and married to another, he believes the legend is true.

Tisa O’Brien’s life slams into a downward spiral at the news she is no longer betrothed to the love of her life but to the tanist of a warring, prideful clan with dangerous political aspirations, the Meic Lochlainn. She faces her destiny with all the strength and dignity of her Irish heritage despite dealing with a husband who resents her, fighting off the lustful advances of her father-in-law, Aodh, and longing for the husband of her heart.

Tadhg MacNaughton makes a deal with the devil to ensure the survival of his clan as he is commanded to fight with Aodh who envisions himself the new Brian Boru, High King of Eire. Up close and personal, Tadhg must witness his true love’s marriage and remain silent even as it rips him apart. When a sinister plot to over throw King William of England led by the exiled Leofrid Godwin and Clan Meic Lochlainn comes to light, Tadhg is faced with saving his clan or endangering his sister and her Norman husband.

An Irish beauty and a warrior betrayed, doomed in love from the start or does fate have something else in store for them?


My Thoughts:

Betrothed since childhood, Tadhg MacNaughton and Tisa O’Brien have always loved each other. With a completely disappointing turn of events Tisa’s betrothal to Tadhg is dissolved and she is immediately married to another. In this, Book 4 of the Norman Conquest series we not only find characters we are familiar with from previous books, but new ones as well. Some of them we just can not like due to their villainous character, but we find some much more intriguing despite who and what they are.

This is a very well developed story if just a bit long for my taste. I did like the overall story and the development of the characters, though forty chapters did make it a time consuming read. It is the longest story in the series, I guess because it brings all of the characters back for an epic adventure. If you like Medieval Romance and don’t mind a very extended read then this one is for you.

I would give this book 4.5 stars.

I received a digital ARC of this book from Netgalley through invitation from the Author in exchange for an honest review.

About The Author:61xBBbr2sgL__UX250_

Amazon Best Selling Author Ashley York is a New England native who writes historical romance novels full of passion and intrigue set in 11th and 12th century Ireland, Scotland, and England.

Her debut novel, The Bruised Thistle, is the first in The Order of the Scottish Thistle series. It tells the story of the Scottish Highlander Seumas, who returns from the Crusades a broken man. He must confront his past in order to help the lovely Iseabail MacNaughton avoid her lecherous uncle who put a price on her head after she escaped his clutches. More books from this series are planned for 2016. She jumped back a few generations for the Norman Conquest Series. Same family – earlier time period.

InD’Tale Review “How dangerous it was then for a woman is disturbingly perfect. The villain is more typical to history than readers may be comfortable with, but life was more brutal than we like to believe… the writing is clear and tight, the characters believable, and the accents are written well, which succeeds in making the overall story quite a good read.”

The Norman Conquest series starts with The Saxon Bride. It’s about a Norman knight, John, who is ordered by King William to marry, Rowena, the sole remaining member of the Saxon royal family. Mistrust, dislike, and a clash of the two cultures makes a peaceful union doubtful.

InD’Tale Review “This historical romance set in eleventh-century England, is an intriguing read that grabs one’s attention from the beginning and doesn’t let go until the very end. Action filled with danger, betrayal, lust, murder, political machinations, and love, this entertaining story is hard to put down!”

The Gentle Knight, book two of the Norman Conquest Series tells about Peter of Normandy and Brighit MacNaughton from Drogheda, Ireland. Peter is traveling to York, following King William’s orders, to see to the unrest at York due to a rogue Baron. He comes across a future nun in route to the Priory at Pontefract. He sees her safely to her destination but loses his heart to her along the way. Brighit is as loyal as any man and must decide to obey her father and take her vows, or obey her heart and submit to her attraction to the Norman knight.

InD’Tale Review “One will delight in the rich, colorful, and descriptive writings in this second standalone period novel. Some readers may initially become distracted with the convoluted list of characters, however as the storyline progresses in pace, one quickly discovers the much needed necessity and added layer of depth that these individual personalities contribute…Ms.York delivers yet another enjoyable and historical read!”

The Irish Warrior: A Norman Conquest Novella is book three in the Norman Conquest series. Sean of Drogheda wants only to return to Drogheda and mend his broken heart at learning his sweet Brighit has married another. Coming upon a lass dressed up as a lad just deepens his discontent since he cannot ignore her dire need for his help. Thomasina has little say over her life with her father who even hands her off as payment for a debt. She does, however, have a say about who she loves and Sean is everything she desires in a man.

The Seventh Son is book four in the Norman Conquest series and tells about Tadhg MacNaughton in Drogheda, Ireland. Eire becomes embroiled in English politics through the Godwin family’s bid to unseat King William. Clan loyalties are put to the test when adultery, treachery, and the desire for power clash, pushing them into battles where the victor wins the spoils of a soon-to-be mighty nation.

Ashley is a PAN member of the Romance Writer’s of America and proud member of the Celtic Hearts, From the Heart, and Hearts through History Chapters. After pursuing an MA in History, she has realized her lifelong dream of bringing history to life through vibrant and meaningful characters.

When she is not writing, talking about writing, or thinking about writing, she enjoys going to sessions for live Celtic Music. She lives in southern New England with her husband and 3 very spoiled animals.


AmazonAmazon Smile

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s